Skip to content

Remembering Summer – the Iowa State Fair

September 2, 2014

P1240415

It has been awhile since I have posted… It has been a difficult stretch.  Back in winter I found out I had prostate cancer.  Then shortly after that  my mother-in-law fell and broke her hip.  She was 90 and a healthy woman.  But, two surgeries took a heavy toll on her.  She passed in May.  That gave me a few weeks to help get the estate in order and the house ready to sell.  She lived 90 miles away so it took time to go back and forth.  Anyway, I had 4 weeks to get things done because I had my cancer surgery in early June.  Since then, I have been in recovery mode.  With so much going on, my mind has not been on the blog.  Now I am back.

I will begin by remembering summer and some of the beautiful things in life.  First on the list – going to the Iowa State Fair in mid-August.

P1240416

I will start with a few photos of animals.  The Iowa State Fair has great throngs of people making their way through buildings filled with animals.

P1240413

The Fair has everything… cows, sheep, horses, pigs, chickens, rabbits, llamas and more.  I will only show a small part of what I took in that day.  Hopefully, these photos bring back memories for you.  Maybe you have been to a fair and enjoyed a day of wandering through the buildings looking at animals and eating all crazy foods on a stick.  I’m not sure which is more popular – the animals or the eating.  But, I bet if there was a poll, the food would win out.  Anyway, for now, enjoy the animals. 🙂

P1240412

 

 

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara Moore permalink
    September 3, 2014 10:45 am

    Please put the Texas State Fair on your list for the future. It has a lot of the same, plus some outrageous junk food. It would be fun to wander the fairgrounds with you. Glad you are back in the saddle.

    • September 3, 2014 8:43 pm

      Barb, thanks for the comment. I guess crazy food-on-a-stick is a trademark that is shared by all the state fairs. My time at the state fair here ended up with me in bed most of the following day. I did not feel well and hurt quite a bit. I did not feel well for about two weeks. I am now starting to do better. I guess the road to recovery has a few bumps. 🙂

  2. Pepe Almazan permalink
    September 3, 2014 5:24 pm

    Hi Brad,
    Nice reading you again. Could you let me know how can I get in contact with you?

  3. September 18, 2014 9:48 pm

    It’s so wonderful to read your writing again dear! Hope you are well 🙂

    We went to our local county fair this year & it was a blast! My husband ran from one food vendor to another eating all kinds of greasey junk on a stick, LOL 🙂

    Your pictures are lovely & I hope to read more of your writing soon 🙂 Blessings!

    • September 19, 2014 11:04 am

      Thanks for your kind comments. My health seems to be OK. Sometimes I have done things that make me hurt for a couple of weeks. But, as my strength improves, I hope to get back to a more normal routine.

      Fairs are great and the foods… everything under the sun on a stick! Never ending fun.

      I appreciate your feedback. Have you thought about writing again? I think you have been a great encouragement to many.

  4. April 28, 2016 5:15 am

    Hello, I always enjoy the Iowa State fair, I live in Chariton, Iowa; if I ever get time off work; just stumbled on your blog; been enjoying your pics too;)) well done; Deb

    • January 3, 2017 7:53 pm

      Sorry I have been slow to get back to you. I am happy you enjoy the Iowa State Fair… it is a very good time in many ways. Thank you for your comment and kind words. I appreciate the feedback. BC

  5. January 3, 2017 2:56 pm

    My boy loved the shots – the last, esp. =)

    • January 3, 2017 7:51 pm

      Thanks for you comments. I am happy your boy liked the photos. Children can offer wonderful, unfiltered thoughts. I hope you are enjoying your son – and life – and appreciating each moment of your journey. Again, thanks for your kind words.

Leave a Reply

