Skip to content

Art to Brighten Your Day

August 2, 2013
By the Seashore (Auguste Renoir)

By the Seashore (Auguste Renoir)

 

A few weeks ago, when visiting the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City, I passed through a wing of the museum filled with breath-taking art.  I am sharing a couple of photos.  I could not use a flash and I didn’t have a tripod and lighting was only moderate… so these photos are not perfect.  But, I just had to share them.

I enjoyed the art at the Met but didn’t come close to seeing their 2 million pieces.  I settled for Auguste Renoir, Henri Matisse, Vincent van Gogh, Paul Cezanne to name a few… a reasonable compromise since I did not have time to visit the entire museum.  The galleries were a sensory overdose of color and emotion.

The visit certainly brightened my day – I hope these photos brighten your day!!!

 

The Card Players (Paul Cezanne)

The Card Players (Paul Cezanne)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Heartafire permalink
    August 2, 2013 12:41 pm

    georgeous art work Brad!

    • August 2, 2013 1:02 pm

      Thanks. There was so much art… my photos were dull compared to seeing the art in person. It was a real pleasure to walk through the galleries.

      • Heartafire permalink
        August 2, 2013 1:40 pm

        O, I am sure it was a thrill. I visited the Louvre some years ago and was stunned by the beauty and peacefulness of the surroundings. You are a lucky man…continue to soak up the beauty in the world.
        my best, Holly

        • August 2, 2013 1:59 pm

          Holly, thanks again for your comments. I also had the pleasure of visiting the Louvre several years ago. The immense scale and the magnificent art – it was stunning. I have been very fortunate to take in many places over the years – some while working and some as part of a vacation. Sometimes beauty is just around the corner… we just have to notice it. 🙂 Brad

          • Heartafire permalink
            August 2, 2013 2:15 pm

            so true Brad! 😉

  2. Anonymous permalink
    August 12, 2013 8:22 pm

    I enjoyed the paintings at the Met. What a great museum.

Leave a Reply

