Skip to content

Ready to take off

April 9, 2013

P1230438

Every year we have a birthday and it is a time to celebrate… or maybe sigh.  We are another year older and wiser (hopefully).  When I was younger I had lots of dreams.  I would be a professional baseball player or maybe an astronaut. I would see the world.  I would do this… that…  But, most of those dreams were just that, dreams of a kid looking at a big world and thinking big thoughts.

One of the dreams, however, came true.  On a recent birthday I got a present (thanks Mike and Molly) that was a bit unusual.  The present was a flying lesson – a lesson where I actually got to fly the plane, take off and land.  Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The photo above is the view from the pilot’s seat.  This is where I sat.  I got to push a lot of the buttons, run the throttle and operate the steering wheel.  You will notice a GPS device in lower center of the photo.  The pilot who took me up plugged in destinations so I basically flew the plane by following the route on the GPS.

P1230436

The session started with some instruction in the pilot’s office at the Des Moines International Airport.  Then we walked out and boarded the plane above.  The pilot went through a pre-flight routine, then contacted the flight tower and got clearance to taxi to the runway, etc.  As we approached the runway, he explained each thing I was to do and I did the to do.  I brought the plane around to the runway – with some help since we needed to fit in between commercial flights that were using the airport.  Actually, I was a little rusty since this was all new.  But, it was great to hear the roar of the engine steer the plane to the primary runway.

My dream was about to come true… I was ready to take off.

Stay tuned for the rest of the story.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2013 8:23 pm

    Congrats on your first flight lesson! It’s definitely addictive. You’ll never forget the first day you flew yourself.

    • April 9, 2013 8:48 pm

      Thanks for your comment. It was a unique experience that I will always remember. Please check back for more on the experience and some video. I will share it in the next day or two.

  2. April 19, 2013 11:19 am

    Best of luck and all my admiration goes out to you. Bravo! Life is grand! Please follow up on this, I will be following it.

    • April 19, 2013 12:30 pm

      Thanks for your enthusiastic comment. The flying experience was great!

Leave a Reply

