Skip to content

Zombies on the loose!

May 17, 2012

Zombies seem to be everywhere… in the movies, at work, in downtown Des Moines.  You never know when you will run into one.  Scary, scary.  Have you seen a zombie lately?

The other day I went out to eat and had a zombie siting!  I know, you are probably skeptical.  So, I took pictures to prove my words.  See below.

I must confess… these are not really zombies.  The family went to Zombie Burgers in East Village for chow.  We had some great burgers plus tasty sides – fried dill pickles and sweet potato fries.  Yum!

I know, you are wondering, was the meal worth it?  Or is this a place all about atmosphere?  I polled our group, our daughter Megan and husband Colby, Mary’s sister Barb and her husband Mike, Mary and her mom Marian.  It was unanimous – everyone thought the food was GREAT and it was a fun night!

NOTE:  the amazing art at Zombie Burger is the work of Ron Wagner, a Des Moines artist.  He has worked as a comic book artist for a number of years and has an interesting story.  Click HERE  to read his story in the Des Moines Register.

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    May 18, 2012 5:57 am

    The Zombie art is wonderful! And by local artist Ron Wagner.

  2. Liz permalink
    May 18, 2012 5:58 am

    The zombie art is great! And by local artist Ron Wagner.

    • May 18, 2012 9:50 am

      Liz, thanks for checking out the zombie post and providing information about the artist!

  3. Nefersiti permalink
    May 24, 2012 11:23 am

    I ❤ Zombies! I actually have a shirt that says exactly that. 🙂 Thanks for sharing this, great Zombie Art. Do you by chance listen to the podcast We're Alive..? It's a zombie survival story, do check it out if you haven't already.

    • May 24, 2012 1:35 pm

      Thanks for the comment. I updated the post … the artist is Ron Wagner a comic book artist and more. If you check the bottom of the post there is a link to an article about him.

      I had not heard of We’re Alive (I know… I live in a cave and am sheltered). I just now looked it up. It is amazing what they are doing. Thanks for sending the suggestion my way.

  4. June 2, 2012 9:13 am

    Wow!! What a cool burger joint! That is so rock’n cool man!!

    • June 2, 2012 10:00 am

      Thanks for your comments… and yes!!! The place was awesome and so was the food.

Leave a Reply

