Skip to content

Chasing Civil War History

April 4, 2012

This past weekend I was in Tennessee covering a southern Iowa reenactment group as they attended the 150th Anniversary Reenactment of the Battle of Shiloh.  I set up the OPEN EYES MEDIA BLOG (see link in right sidebar) to share stories of this experience and other projects involving old stories.  Click HERE to take a look.

Please consider FOLLOWING the Blog in order to get automatic notification of updates.

Artillery Fire from a Union Cannon

Artillery Fire from a Union Cannon

I am working on several newspaper articles covering the event with my son, Seth Clark.  The articles are appearing in the Ottumwa Courier, an Ottumwa, Iowa newspaper and the Daily Iowegian, a Centerville, Iowa newspaper.  We photographed the event and collected lots of video.

The Shiloh event was an “immersion” experience where the reenactors and families lived the 1862 life for a few days.  Read about this in the OPEN EYES MEDIA BLOG.  I think you will find it interesting… and I guarantee you will see lots of amazing photography!

A Confederate Attack

A Confederate Attack

Take a look.  Comment.  Please FOLLOW.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Civil War Buff permalink
    April 5, 2012 10:40 pm

    Superb photos and a great blog!!

    • April 5, 2012 10:41 pm

      Thanks for the comment. I really enjoyed taking the photos and I am happy you like them.

  2. April 7, 2012 11:46 am

    Great pics!!

    • April 7, 2012 1:17 pm

      Thanks for visiting my site and the kind words. I hope you keep coming back.

  3. April 26, 2012 9:41 am

    Very interesting. I think I will look into this. Thanks.

    • April 26, 2012 10:29 am

      Thanks for your kind words and taking time to look at my blog.

      • April 26, 2012 10:44 am

        Sure. I’m very interested in the Civil War. Am I correct that this was really about slavery? Pardon my ignorance. I didn’t take a lot of time when I were younger to study history. Very much into it now.

        • April 26, 2012 11:26 am

          The Civil War was about slavery. And like so many political disputes, it included a lot of other issues where anger and disagreement got out of hand. There were differences in what trade policy and tariffs should be. The North had more industry and the South had more agriculture. All of these disagreements – plus extreme rhetoric – whipped the regions into a war frenzy.

          • April 26, 2012 11:32 am

            No pun on the “whipped” I’m sure 😉
            With all things a process and a sacrifice huh. I love the fact that I have an opportunity and a greater mind to understand these things being older. I remember being taught…”the civil war,” not having an understanding on what it really was about.

Leave a Reply

