Skip to content

Is it cold yet??

January 11, 2010

Winter in Iowa never get’s it due.  When the Weather Channel recites the cold temperatures, Minnesota, our neighbor, typically gets bragging rights.  When it comes to snow, the Rocky mountains are typically getting the headlines.  Or Buffalo, New York is in the spot light.

However, so far this year, Iowa is making a respectable showing when it comes to weather.  Des Moines received over 27 inches of snow in December – not bad.  We have also had a number of frosty nights:  -17, -15, etc.  It is mid-January and this time of year, with all the talk of below-zero temperatures, the conversation turns to the true measure of frigidness, wind chill.  Wind chills of -40, -30, -25 etc. are now a part of our routine.

Who said it was cold?

But, Iowa is more than a frozen tundra.  We are also a land of smart people.  We study hard, play hard and never let a little chilly weather get us down.  We are prudent people… we would never consider doing anything too crazy.  We also do not like to be cooped up.  A little fresh air is good for the constitution.  With that in mind, I thought I would share some pictures.  In the photo above, my son Mike (left) and son-in-law-to-be Colby (right) were recently cathching a few rays and working on their tan.

Iowa is also a good place to raise a family.  We take care of our kids… make sure they do their homework, brush their teeth and do their chores.  We would never let them do anything that would be bad for their health.  We keep it simple… good health is a function of exercise and fresh air.  And the kids (Gage on the left and Gerald on the right) in these parts are happy to get outside and get some fresh air (see below).

Now, before you turn me into the authorities, I need to assure you that no one was forced to do these photos.  No one was compensated or bribed to do this.  All our models were happy to sit in the -25 degree wind chill because if felt soooooo good, now that it was warming up.  🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2010 6:02 pm

    Oh my gosh!! So cold!!! I think I would die! I went to my car the other morning and the temp was 15 degrees, and I thought that was just obscene! How do you do it?

  2. January 12, 2010 10:57 pm

    I think cold is something you learn to deal with. Half the time I shovel snow in a sweatshirt… no coat. I typically do not bust out the winter coat until December, even if it snows. A fall jacket is just fine. I figure that you do not want your warmest coat on when it is 40 degrees – wait until it is cold. When outdoors stay busy. Do not just stand around or the cold sinks in. If none of this works – – move South.

    • January 13, 2010 1:11 pm

      I guess you have become very well adapted to the cold. Haha! I would die if I lived anywhere near that cold. When it get to 40 or below, I start to layer. I wear long johns under everything! I guess, I am just going to have to go further south… A nice place where it is always warm.

  3. Pepe Almazan permalink
    January 13, 2010 9:11 am

    Incredible!!!!! is getting a bit cold in Spain, lots of rain, snow, but nothing like in Iowa.
    I think these pictures are awesome and show how strong Iowans are!! 🙂 absolutely agree with how good fresh air is and feel……

    • January 13, 2010 11:59 am

      Pepe, I am glad I got the snow blower. Do you remember all the work it was to shovel snow when you were here? This year is worse. The pictures are funny!

  4. June 6, 2013 5:52 pm

    Love these pics!!

Leave a Reply

